Updates – 9/27/12

I now have the flight control board, the Naze32. It was surprisingly small, the picture on the website was bigger then this thing really is. For a size comparison, I set it on the keyboard of my laptop.
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

That was nothing compared to the FrSky telemetry link that came with it.
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

I have hooked the board up to my computer and with the MultiWii GUI interface I could see the sensor outputs changing as I moved the board around, so everything seems to be working.
I’m at school right now, but over the weekend I plan to do the following, including documentation here on my blog:

  • Pick up a cheap multimeter from Harbor Freight for testing components.
  • Finish my JR6201 72Mhz to 2.4GHz FrSky conversion.
  • Cut the sheet of plywood for my quad base, and glue on 1/2 inch square, 24″ long basswood arms (yes, another design change).
  • Update the firmware on the Naze32 and learn the interface so I know what to do when I have my quad built and I’m eager to fly.

I’ve got a whole lot of research left to do, mainly stuff that applies to FPV, when I’m ready to get that set up. But I’ll tackle that when it comes to that. I believe FPV will be really, really fun.

Leave a Reply

